Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Accounting and Finance

Welcome to the Accounting and Finance subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Carolyn Mustard. Carolyn can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: c.mustard@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308891

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • Business Source Premier
    A collection of journals and trade publication in the areas of business, management, accounting, finance and economics. A large number of these articles are available in full-text. Includes Accounting and FinanceJournal of Business Finance and Accounting and Journal of AccountingAuditing and Finance.
  • Emerald
    Access to over 100 full-text journals in the area of business including accounting. Titles include Accounting, Auditing and Accountability JournalJournal of Financial Regulation and Compliance and Managerial Finance. Note: our subscription to Emerald will end on 31st December 2015. You will have access to articles predating the cancellation date  but no new content will be available on Emerald.
  • MarketLine Advantage
    A dynamic platform featuring:  Coverage of 33,000+ companies, 5,000+ industry Profiles and 110 Country Profiles, all updated annually; Country Statistics Database covering 215 countries and 46 political and geographic groupings; Company Analysis Tools - an interactive suite of four tools covering 400,000 companies; 300,000+ financial deals related to companies and industries tracked by MarketLine with updates added daily; 330+ company-focused Case Studies with new titles added monthly.
  • Taylor & Francis Online
  • Access to over 1100 social sciences and humanities journals including The Journal of Behavioral Finance and Accounting in Europe.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including The Journal of Finance and World Banking Review. 

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include: 

  • CIMA (Chartered Institute of Management Accountants) Access to a range of useful publications which are free to download.
  • City of London -Research Publications. Free access to a range of publications on financial services, global financial centres and economic development.
  • UK Data Service. Extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and them
  • Financial Statistics. Download key financial and monetary statistics from the Office for National Statistics. Includes data on public sector finance, government expenditure and banks and building societies.
  • FRC (Financial Reporting Council). Access to a range of publications. Also includes links to the Accounting Standards Board and Auditing Practice Board
  • ICAS (The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland). Information about ICAS. The site also provides access to news and publications in the areas of Accounting and Auditing, Taxation and Business Issues.
  • International Accounting Standards Board. This site provides a list of all International Accounting Standards in force or recently issued. Also useful for finding out about how the standards are used throughout the world.
  • Open Knowledge Repository. World Bank Institutional Repository offering free open access to their research outputs and knowledge products
  • Quandl. Over 7million financial, economic, and social datasets

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Company Information

Market research and company information.

Newspapers

How to find full text newspaper content.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.