Welcome to the Biosciences subject page. This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.
Your Librarian is Jean McGuinness. Jean can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.
Tel: 01382 308823
Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary
Subject specific journal collections/databases
The key resources for your subject area are:
- ACM Digital Library
Access to a range of full-text articles on bioinformatics, from a computing/technical perspective.
- American Chemical Society
Articles in the chemical and related sciences, including these journals: ACS Chemical Biology; Biochemistry; Bioconjugate Chemistry; Biomacromolecules; Biotechnology Progress; Nano Letters.
- BioMed Central
Access to 180+ peer-reviewed life science journals, including BMC Bioinformatics and BMC Biotechnology. Research articles are usually available in full-text; others may provide citation and abstract only. Also provides a number of subject gateways that bring together high quality websites and research articles for a particular subject area.
The leading weekly international scientific journal.
- Science Direct
Full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals, covering all subjects.
Full-text articles from more than 2,500 journals including Cell and Tissue Research and Theoretical and Applied Genetics.
- Taylor & Francis Online
Access to over 1100 journals including Communicative & Integrative Biology and Rare Diseases.
- Wiley Online Library
Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including the Biology of the Cell and Journal of Medical Virology.
Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc
Key websites for your subject area include:
- Biochemical Society. Includes Biochemical Journal.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. United States government health protection agency.
- Communicable Disease Surveillance and Response. Important information from the World Health Organisation.
- CropGen. Consumer and media initiative that exists to inform people about the benefits of GM crop biotechnology.
- Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs (DEFRA). Oversees the food industries in the UK and deals with environmental concerns.
- European Bioinformatics Institute. Provides information about the EBI, its history, research activities and publications.
- Food and Agriculture Organization. Part of the United Nations, the FAO works to alleviate hunger and promote agricultural development.
- Laboratory for Interdisciplinary Technologies in Bioinformatics (LITBIO). International research and development programmes, aiming to establish cooperation between public and private organisations and to stimulate the growth of new enterprises in Bioinformatics.
- Mitomap. Human mitochondrial genome database. "The role of Mitomap is to report, not to analyze, published and unpublished data on human mitochondrial DNA variation".
- National Federation for Infectious Diseases. USA based organisation supporting research into the understanding and prevention of infectious diseases.
- PFAM. Database of protein families from the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute.
- Society of Biology. Professional body for biologists. Information on publications, UK branches, membership, education and training.
- Society for In Vitro Biology. Aims to foster the exchange of knowledge in this subject area. The focus is on biological research, development and applications of significance to science and society.
- Virus Reference Laboratory. Based at University College Dublin, this laboratory provides information about viruses including a Virus Alert Bulletin.
Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.
Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.
Evaluating your resources
Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:
- Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites?
- Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
- Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?
There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:
There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person: