Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Business and Management

Welcome to the Business and Management subject pages.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Carolyn Mustard. Carolyn can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: c.mustard@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308891

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • Business Source Premier  
    A collection of journals and trade publication in the areas of business, management, accounting, finance and economics. A large number of these articles are available in full-text. Also contains Datamonitor company profiles.
  • Emerald  
    Access to over 100 full-text journals in the area of business and management. Note: our subscription to Emerald will end on 31st December 2015. You will have access to articles predating the cancellation date  but no new content will be available on Emerald.
  • MarketLine Advantage 
    A dynamic platform featuring:  Coverage of 33,000+ companies, 5,000+ industry Profiles and 110 Country Profiles, all updated annually; Country Statistics Database covering 215 countries and 46 political and geographic groupings; Company Analysis Tools - an interactive suite of four tools covering 400,000 companies; 300,000+ financial deals related to companies and industries tracked by MarketLine with updates added daily; 330+ company-focused Case Studies with new titles added monthly.
  • SpringerLink 
  • Full-text articles from more than 2,500 journals including Small Business Economics and Journal of Business Ethics.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including the Business Strategy Review and Journal of Management Studies.

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include: 

  • BBC News. Business: The BBC business news site brings you the latest business news, provides up-to-date market data and information on the economy, companies and e-commerce.
  • BIS. The website of the Department for Business Innovation and Skills.
  • Biz/ed. A Web site for students and educators in business studies, economics, accounting, leisure, sport & recreation and travel & tourism.
  • Biznar. Live federated search from Deep Web Technologies covering 60 business collections.
  • Open Knowledge Repository. World Bank Institutional Repository offering free open access to their research outputs and knowledge product.
  • Quandl. Over 7 million financial, economic, and social datasets.

Case studies

  • MIT Sloan Teaching Innovation Resources. MSTIR is a collection of free teaching materials, including case studies, industry notes, and management simulations. 
  • The Journal of Business Case Studies. Published quarterly the Journal of Business Case Studies provides free access to case studies and their solutions for teaching and research purposes. Topics include accounting, business law, economics, ethics, finance, management, marketing, and related fields.
  • New York Times case studies. A collection of SME case studies. Includes suggestions from readers and a follow up on what the business owners decided to do.
  • Times 100 case studies. Case studies based on key elements of business studies curriculum using real information from companies.
  • World Business Council for Sustainable development. Case studies illustrating how businesses work to integrate sustainable development into their business activities.

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Company information

Market research and company information.

Newspapers

How to find full text newspaper content.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.