Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Computer Arts and Games

Welcome to the Computer Arts and Games subject page.  This guides highlights the key resources for your subject area, and services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Sinéad McGhee. Sinéad can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: s.mcghee@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308867

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • ACM Digital Library 
    Computing and engineering conference papers and journal articles.
  • Aesthetica Magazine 
    Access from 2006-Present.  Articles on film, animation, music, photography and the creative arts in general. Mobile access is also available on-campus only with an IP authenticated app: Any iOS device within the University IP ranges can also access the Aesthetica app. You can download the app here.
  • Game Studies: The International Journal of Computer Game Research 
    Game Studies is an open access, crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games and gaming research and the aesthetic, cultural and communicative aspects of computer games.  Additional open access journals can be found using the Open Access Journals link at the bottom of the page.
  • Springer Link ebooks 
    Over 23,000 e-books on computer science.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including Computer Animation and Virtual Worlds and Computer Graphics Forum. 
  • Taylor & Francis Online 
    Access to over 1100 social sciences and humanities journals including Journal of Game Tools and Digital Creativity.

 

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include:

  • About.com guide to Animation. A range of articles on animation and related techniques.
  • British Film Institute Archive. Over 2,000 non-fiction film and television video clipsfrom the 20th century to the early 21st
  • Copyright User. An online resource aimed at informing everyone who uses copyright including musicians, filmmakers, performers, writers, visual artists and interactive developers, about how to protect their work, how to license and exploit it, and how to legally re-use the work of others.
  • Creative Commons Search. Useful for finding videos, images and media you can share, use and remix. Always check licence conditions.
  • Digital Art Museum. Aims to become the  world's leading online resources for the history of digital art. 
  • Digital Art Source. Directory of links to new media art, including links to digital artists, software, music and digital photography sites. 
  • EU Screen. Offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
  • Free SFX. Over 1,200 individual sound effect files available to download and re-use. You need to sign up for a free account in order to download the files.  Some are available under and End User Licence Agreement, some under a Creative Commons Licence.
  • Gamasutra. Information resources on computer games. Articles, jobs, products, companies, online theses etc.
  • GameDevNet. Articles, tutorials and online resources for games technology, game development and programming,
  • Game FAQs. Produced by CNET Networks Entertainment, this site includes gaming FAQs, code, game cheats and discussion boards.
  • Getty Images. The John Paul Getty Museum has made 100s of images of their collection freely available to download and re-use.
  • Jamendo. Copyright free music which you can download and use in projects.
  • Moving Image Archive. Thousands of digital films ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. More information available about licences, downloading and re-use here.
  • TIGA. National Trade Association representing games developers in the UK and Europe.
  • VADS. A collection of visual arts digital resources, free of charge to UK HE and FE sectors. To search the resources you will need to register online. Materials can be used for personal educational and research purposes only. Please check the Copyright Disclaimer Notice.

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Open Access Journals

Freely available peer-reviewed journals include:

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Pluralsight (Digital Tutors)

The world's largest CG, VFX and digital art training resource.

Multimedia

Advice on finding audio, image and video resources.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

Getting started

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.