Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Computing

Welcome to the Computing subject page.  This guides highlights the key resources for your subject area, and services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Sinéad McGhee. Sinéad can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: s.mcghee@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308867

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • ACM Digital Library 
    Computing and engineering conference papers and journal articles.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Access to more than 4 million full-text documents from some of the world’s most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.  It contains more than 30% of the world’s technical literature.
  • Springer Link ebooks 
    Over 23,000 e-books on computer science.
  • Science Direct 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals in the ScienceDirect Freedom Collection, covering all disicplines. Most titles are available from 1997.
  • The Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law 
    A publication of the Association of Digital Forensics, Security and Law which includes original research about digital forensics and its relationship to security and law.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including the Security and Communication Networks and Expert Systems.

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include:

  • Computing Research Repository. Sponsored by ACM, arXiv.org e-print archive, NCSTRL and AAAI. Provides access to a range of articles in computing.
  • FreeTechBooks. Free online computer science, engineering and programming books all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet.
  • SANS Institute. Leading source of information security training, certification and research.
  • TechXtra. UK-based search engine for quality computing, engineering and mathematics websites.
  • World Wide Web Consortium. The site focuses on new web developments and takes a leading role in usability and accessibility issues, providing a range of standards and guidelines.
  • Copyright User. An online resource aimed at informing everyone who uses copyright including musicians, filmmakers, performers, writers, visual artists and interactive developers, about how to protect their work, how to license and exploit it, and how to legally re-use the work of others.

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Multimedia

Advice on finding audio, image and video resources.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

Getting started

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.