Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Criminology

Welcome to the Criminology subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Sinéad McGhee. Sinead can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: s.mcghee@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308867

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • CredoCriminal Justice 
    A collection of online reference books. 
  • Sage journals 
    Full-text of nearly 500 journals covering all disciplines, including 35 criminology journals.
  • Taylor & Francis Online 
    Access to over 1100 social sciences and humanities journals including The Howard Journal of Criminal Justice and Global Crime.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including Criminal Justice Ethics, Women and Criminology and Public Policy.
  • Lexis Library  
    Good coverage of UK newspapers. Remember to click on News from the menu to access the newspaper search. 
  • Scopus 
    Accesss to the largest abstract and indexing database of peer-reviewed literature. Coverage is multidiscipinary.
  • Web of Science 
    A multidisciplinary abstracting database indexing over 10,000 journals in science, social sciences, arts and humanities.
  • UK Data Service 
    Crime-related data held by the UK Data Service include not only national crime surveys (which cover diverse issues such as identity theft and alcohol-related disorder in the night-time economy), but also illegal drug use, workers in the criminal justice system, football hooliganism, and community policing in Africa. Use the keyword anywhere search.

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Law Subject Guide

Selected resources to support Law.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

RefWorks

Learn more about how to manage your references using RefWorks.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.