Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Education

Welcome to the Education subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Jean McGuinness. Jean can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: j.mcguinness@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308823

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning
    A useful e-book available through our SpringerLink collection.
  • Sage Journals 
    Full-text of nearly 500 Sage journals including several education journals such as Active Learning in Higher Education and Theory and Research in Education.
  • Sage Knowledge 
    A useful collection of ebooks which includes a selection relating to education.
  • SpingerLink 
    A useful collection of ebooks and journals including Higher Education and Innovative Higher Education.
  • Palgrave Connect 
    A multidisciplinary ebook collection which includes a number of titles relating to education.
  • Taylor and Francis Online 
    Full-text access to almost 2,000 journals including Higher Education Research and DevelopmentBritish Journal of Educational Studies and Teaching in Higher Education.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including Higher Education Quarterly and New Directions for Teaching and Learning

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include: 

  • ERIC Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) includes an abstracting database containing useful information for teachers.
  • Higher Education Academy The HEA's aim is to use their expertise and resources to support the higher education community in order to enhance the quality and impact of learning and teaching.
  • Higher Education Empirical Research Database Summaries of the latest published research on a range of topics related to higher education.
  • Leadership Foundation for Higher Education The Leadership Foundation is committed to developing and improving the management and leadership skills of existing and future leaders of higher education.
  • Quality Assurance Agency The mission of the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) is to safeguard standards and improve the quality of UK higher education. Website has useful reports and subject be

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Psychology Subject Guide

Selected resources to support Psychology.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

RefWorks

Learn more about how to manage your references using RefWorks.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.