Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Engineering

Welcome to the Engineering subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Susan Smith. Susan can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: susan.smith@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308874

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • Construction Information Service 
    Produced by IHS Technical Indexes, this online database provides access to up-to-date technical documents including Eurocodes. Limited to one user at a time, if you don't get in first time, try again later.
  • ICE Virtual Library Journals 
    Search various Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers journals online. 
  • SpringerLINK 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,500 journals including Materials and Structures and International Journal of Concrete Structures and Materials.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including Computer-Aided Civil and Infrastructure Engineering and Structural Concrete.

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include: 

  • ASCE Civil Engineering Database. Provides access to bibliographic and abstracted articles published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
  • FTI Consulting. Consultancy firm that specialises in construction procurement and dispute resolution.
  • Concrete Centre Central development organisation for the UK cement and concrete industry, aiming to assist all those involved in design and construction to realise the full potential of concrete.
  • Design Manual for Roads and Bridges. Provides full-text access to the Design Manual for Roads and Bridges (DMRB), published by the UK Highways Agency.
  • Heritage Explorer. A resource from English Heritage which allows access to thousands of images of (mostly) English architecture and culture which are free to use for educational purposes.
  • iCivilEngineer.com. Designed for civil engineering professionals and students, icivilengineer.com provides access to news, jobs, weblinks and online articles.
  • Institution of Civil Engineers. Independent UK-based engineering institution which represents qualified engineers worldwide.
  • Internet for Civil Engineering. Online tutorial aimed at civil engineering students.
  • New Civil Engineer Plus. Free full-text access to several years of journal articles from New Civil EngineerNew Civil Engineer InternationalCivil Engineering International and other titles.
  • Resource for Urban Design Information (RUDI). Multimedia resource for teaching, research and professional activity in urban design and related disciplines.
  • TechXtra. UK-based search engine for quality engineering, computing and mathematics websites.

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

British Standards

Advice on finding British Standards.

Company Information

How to find company information.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.