Welcome to the subject page for Forensic Science. This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.
Your Librarian is Jean McGuinness. Jean can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.
Tel: 01382 308874
Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary
Subject specific journal collections/databases
The key resources for your subject area are:
- American Chemical Society
The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
- Credo Criminal Justice Collection
Collection of reference books including The Handbook of Forensic Psychology and DNA Technology: A Reference Handbook.
- Encyclopaedia of Forensic Sciences
Comprehensive collection of articles that cover all the activities which make up forensic science including the collection, preservation analysis and intrepretation of forensic evidence.
Forensic science and criminal justice ebooks.
The leading weekly international scientific journal.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime including forensic science.
Full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals, covering all subjects including Forensic Science International.
- Wiley Online Library
Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including Journal of Forensic Sciences.
Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc
Key websites for your subject area include:
- British Toxicology Society
- Cellmark Forensics. Private company providing forensics services to police forces. Has a useful careers section.
- European Network of Forensic Science Institutes (ENFSI). The ENFSI newsletter can be freely subscribed to from this site.
- Forensic Science Service Northern Ireland (FSNI). An agency within the Department of Justice for Northern Ireland. It provides forensic science services primarily to the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI).
- Forensic Science Society. Provides access to a searchable database of related web resources, careers information, and an online newsletter. In addition, articles from the Society's journals as well as material from other journals and some books can be searched via the Journal Bibliography Search database.
- GIMI - Geoforensics & Information Management for Crime Investigation. The GIMI network aims to find ways in which new technologies can help in forensic investigations of crime scenes. GIMI draws together the expertise of over 40 scientists and forensic professionals who will review and evaluate the potential for using non-invasive methods in forensic investigations.
- International Association of Forensic Toxicologists. Established in 1963, the Association groups together more than 1,400 members worldwide. Membership costs around £20 per annum and benefits include: a subscription to the TIAFT bulletin; access to TIAFT online reviews; therapeutic and toxic drug concentrations list; and access to the TIAFT proceedings database.
- Interpol Handbook on DNA Data Exchange and Practice. Published in 2001, this document aims to encourage police and forensic services to make effective use of DNA profiling, both nationally and internationally.
- LGC Forensics. The largest provider of forensice science provision in the UK. They also have a useful careers section.
- National Center for Forensic Science. This US-based centre works to provide "proactive and innovative solutions to meet the challenges facing the investigative and forensic science and criminal justice communities". Information is provided on the Center and its work, including digital, biological and physical evidence. The site provides access to the Ignitable Liquids Reference Collection database.
- Scottish Police Authority. The Scottish Police Authority (SPA) was established under the Police and Fire Reform (Scotland) Act 2012 to maintain policing, promote policing principles and continuous improvement of policing, and to hold the Chief Constable to account. Responsible for the provision of forensic services throughout Scotland and advertise current job vacancies in the field.
- Society of Forensic Toxicologists. Includes access to SOFT laboratory guidelines.
- TOXNET. Provided by the National Library of Medicine, TOXNET offers access to a range of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas. Databases include TOXLINE: a bibliographic database which covers literature on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.
Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.
Evaluating your resources
Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:
- Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites?
- Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
- Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?
There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:
There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person: