Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Mental Health Nursing

Welcome to the Mental Health Nursing subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Noelle McDougall. Noelle can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: n.mcdougall@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308836

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • CINAHL Plus with full text 
    This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. 
  • Psychology & Behavioural Sciences Collection 
    Access to full-text articles from around 410 journals (articles for the past year may not be available for some titles). Subject coverage includes: Emotional & Behavioural Characteristics; Psychiatry & Psychology; Mental Processes; Anthropology; Observational & Experimental Methods.
  • PsycArticles 
    Access to the full-text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioural science and related fields. Includes Crisis: Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention and Psychology of Addictive Behaviors
  • Sage Journals 
    A multi-disciplinary database with good coverage of mental health topics.
  • Science Direct 
    Access to full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals, covering all subjects. Most titles are available from 1997.
  • Taylor & Francis Online 
    Access to over 1100 social sciences and humanities journals including the Journal of Mental Health Research in Intellectual Disabilities and Aging & Mental Health
  • Scopus 
    Access to
     the largest abstract and indexing database of peer-reviewed literature. Coverage is multidiscipinary.
  • Web of Science 
    A multidisciplinary abstracting database indexing over 10,000 journals in science, social sciences, arts and humanities including Medline.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including the International Journal of Mental Health Nursing and Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing

Websites - sources of freely available resources including information on your Knowledge Network Account.

Key websites for your subject area include: 

An important source of health related information produced by NHS Scotland. Undergraduate nursing students can register for an account which will allow them to access the subscribed content, which can be particularly useful when you are on placement.
If your account has expired, please email librarians.tayside@nhs.net to get your account renewed.

If you have forgotten your Knowledge Network password you can renew it by:

  • Going to the Knowledge Network and click on Login/Register.
  • Click on Forgotten Password above the login boxes.
  • Enter your username and registered email address.
  • Click on submit and a new password will be sent to this email address.

Please wait approximately 20 minutes after receiving the new password before trying it out to allow time for the servers to update.

Students who have forgotten both their username and password can email their academic librarian n.mcdougall@abertay.ac.uk or librarians.tayside@nhs.net 

  • Pirahmids 
    Case studies of good practice in mental health care in Scotland provided by Healthcare Improvement Scotland.
  • Scottish health Policies and Strategies 
    A short index to Scottish Government policies and supporting information relevant to population health, and particularly to population health improvement. Its purpose is to provide a quick reference tool with links to relevant documents and web pages.
  • PubPsych 
    A search engine which searches the psychological literature and is a useful source of information for mental health nursing.
  • Cochrane Library
    The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. These are the:

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

  • Department of Health Publications 
    Find out about all the latest publications from the Department of Health including, reports, letters circulars, booklets, posters, statistics, etc.
  • PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses). 
    This is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.

The following websites provide guidance on evaluating different types of studies which students may fnd useful for their coursework

  • CASP Checklists 
    A set of eight critical appraisal tools designed to be used when reading research. These include tools for Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.
  • Health Knowledge 
    A short list of useful questions to use when evaluating research.
  • A set of Critical Appraisal worksheets from the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine, CEBM

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

RefWorks

Learn more about how to manage your references using RefWorks.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.