Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Psychology

Welcome to the Psychology subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Noelle McDougall. Noelle can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: n.mcdougall@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308836

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • PsycArticles 
    Access to full-text of journals published by the American Psychological Association. Many journals have ful text items dating from1988 to the present and some have holding dating back to the late 1800s and early 1900s. 
  • Psychology and Behavioural Sciences 
    Provides access to full-text articles from around 410 journals (articles for the past year may not be available for some titles). Subject coverage includes: Emotional & Behavioural Characteristics; Psychiatry & Psychology, Mental Processes, Anthropology, Observational & Experimental Methods.
  • Sage Journals 
    Full-text of nearly 500 Sage journals including several psychology and counselling journals. 
  • ScienceDirect 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals in the ScienceDirect Freedom Collection, covering all disciplines. Most titles are available from 1997.
  • SpringerLINK 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,500 journals including Psychometrika and Social Psychology of Education.
  • ProQuest Central
    A multi-disciplinary database with good coverage of psychology topics. You can use the advanced search to limit searches to psychology journals only if required. ProQuest Central also includes  access to the Periodicals Archive Online - a  digital archive of leading international journals in the humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content.
  • SPORTDiscus 
    Includes over 200 full-text academic journals and several hundred magazines covering all areas of sports including sports psychology. A further 100 titles are covered with abstracts only, although the full-text may be available elsewhere at Abertay – check the ‘Full text at Abertay’ button from Sport Discus, or the find a journal to check if we have access.
  • Scopus 
    Access to the largest abstract and indexing database of peer-reviewed literature. Coverage is multidiscipinary.
  • Web of Science 
    This database indexes over 10,00 journals in science, social sciences, arts and humanities, including psychology, from 1900 onwards.
  • Taylor & Francis Online 
    Access to over 1100 social sciences and humanities journals including the the British Journal of Psychology and Cognitive Science.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including the Journal of Cognition & Development and The Quarterly Journal of Experimental Psychology.

 

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include: 

  • Classics in the History of Psychology. Provides online access to the full-text of a large number of historically significant documents, available in the public domain, from the scholarly literature of psychology and related disciplines. Over 25 books and about 200 articles and book chapters.

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

RefWorks

Learn more about how to manage your references using RefWorks.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.