Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Sociology

Welcome to the Sociology subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Sinéad McGhee. Sinéad can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: s.mcghee@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308836

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • ProQuest Central 
    A multidisciplinary database of journal and newspaper articles with good coverage for Social Science students.
  • Sage Journals 
    Full-text of nearly 500 Sage journals covering all disciplines, dating from 1999. 
  • ScienceDirect 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals in the ScienceDirect Freedom Collection, covering all disicplines. Most titles are available from 1997.
  • Scopus 
    Access to the largest abstract and indexing database of peer-reviewed literature. Coverage is multidiscipinary.
  • Lexis Library  
    Good coverage of Uk newspapers. Remember to click on News from the menu to access the newspaper search. 
  • SpringerLINK 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,500 journals including Social Indicators Research and Journal of Child and Family Studies.
  • Taylor & Francis Online 
    Access to over 1100 social sciences and humanities journals including International Review of Sociology and International Journal of Social Research Methodology.
  • Web of Science 
    A multidisciplinary abstracting database indexing over 10,000 journals in science, social sciences, arts and humanities.
  • Wiley Online Library 
    Access to nearly 1,500 peer-review journals including Journal of Historical Sociology and Sociological Inquiry.

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include: 

  • National Records for Scotland. This website will provide statistics and census information for Scotland.
  • Quandl. Over 7 million financial, economic, and social datasets.
  • UK Data Service. The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource  to support researchers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It is a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011. 

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Law Subject Guide

Selected resources to support Law.

Newspapers

How to find full text newspaper content.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.