Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Sound and Music for Games

Welcome to the subject page for Sound and Music for Games.  This guides highlights the key resources for your subject area, and services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Sinéad McGhee. Sinéad can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: s.mcghee@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308867

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • ACM Digital Library 
  • Computing and engineering conference papers and journal articles.
  • Archival Sound Recordings 
    Selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, covering music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds. 
  • Cambridge University Press 
    Access to journals in a number of subject areas, including the journals Organised Sound and Cinema Journal.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Access to more than 4 million full-text documents from some of the world’s most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.  It contains more than 30% of the world’s technical literature.
  • Journal of Gaming and Virtual Worlds
    The journal focuses on theoretical and applied, empirical, critical, rhetorical, creative, economic and professional approaches to the study of electronic games across platforms and genres as well as ludic and serious online environments. (Access available from 2010-2013 and from 2017 onwards)
  • Rock's Back Pages 
    A freely available selection of music journalism from publications including Rolling Stone, Melody Maker and NME.
  • Science Direct 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals, covering all subjects. Includes access to titles such as Applied Acoustics and Journal of Sound and Vibration.
  • Springer Link ebooks 
    Over 23,000 e-books on computer science.

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include:

  • Copyright User. An online resource aimed at informing everyone who uses copyright including musicians, filmmakers, performers, writers, visual artists and interactive developers, about how to protect their work, how to license and exploit it, and how to legally re-use the work of others.

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Open Access Journals

Freely available peer-reviewed journals include:

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Pluralsight (Digital Tutors)

The world's largest CG, VFX and digital art training resource.

Multimedia

Advice on finding audio, image and video resources.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

Pluralsight (formerly Digital Tutors) is the world's largest CG, VFX and digital art training resource. Contains video tutorials on Maya, XNA, Zbrush, Photoshop, Flash and and much more.  Access via registered accounts only for Arts, Media & Computer Games. 

If you haven't received an invite or are having issues getting access please email library@abertay.ac.uk

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

Getting started

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.