Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer

Sport

Welcome to the Sport subject page.  This guide highlights the key resources for your subject area, and the key services and facilities available from the Library.

Your Librarian is Noelle McDougall. Noelle can help you find the resources you need for your research, and advise you on how best to reference them.

Email: n.mcdougall@abertay.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 308836

Follow the Library on Twitter @AbertayLibrary

Subject specific journal collections/databases

The key resources for your subject area are:

  • SPORTDiscus 
    Includes over 200 full-text academic journals and several hundred magazines covering all areas of sports and sports medicine literature. A further 100 titles are covered with abstracts only, although the full-text may be available elsewhere at Abertay – check the ‘Full text at Abertay’ button from SportDiscus, or use the journal search to check if we have full-text access to the journal list.
  • Ovid Journals 
    Includes Exercise & Sport Sciences ReviewJournal of Strength & Conditioning ResearchMedicine & Science in Sports & Exercise, and Strength & Conditioning Journal.
  • Pubmed 
    PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
  • ProQuest Central 
    A multidisciplinary database of journal and newspaper articles with good coverage for Sport students.
  • Sage Journals 
    Full text of nearly 500 Sage journals covering all disciplines, dating from 1999. 
  • SpringerLINK 
    Full-text articles from more than 2,500 journals including Sport Sciences for Health and Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition.
  • Taylor & Francis Online 
    Access to over 1100 social sciences and humanities journals including Sports Biomechanics and European Journal of Sport Science.
  • Scopus 
    Access to the largest abstract and indexing database of peer-reviewed literature. Coverage is multidiscipinary.

Websites - sources of freely available reports, papers, books etc

Key websites for your subject area include: 

  • SportScience. A useful resource to help with research design. It also has a section on statistics that you may find useful.
  • Sport Scotland. The national agency for the development of sport in Scotland.The Resources library includes publications, reports and statistics that you may find useful. 

Reading Lists

Students 

Log directly into Blackboard to see if an online list is available for your module(s). If there's not one available, ask your module leader to contact the Library.

Staff

Log directly into Blackboard to access and make changes to your reading lists. More information on how to do this can be found from our Reading Lists page. Alternatively, contact your Academic Librarian.

Evaluating your resources

Remember, when deciding which resources to use for your research, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Am I using the right type of resource? ie too many books could make your research quite general - have you used any journal articles? are you using too many websites? 
  • Are your resources current? Depending on your subject area, you made need to use only the most up-to-date of literature.
  • Is what you're using reliable? ie if it was found on the internet: is it a reliable source? when was the website last updated?

Other resources

There may be other types of information available that you hadn't considered using, or you'd like more help with, such as:

Psychology Subject Guide

Selected resources to support Psychology.

Referencing

For help with referencing styles: Harvard, APA and OSCOLA.

RefWorks

Learn more about how to manage your references using RefWorks.

Online help

There are various ways of getting help, both online and in person:

GettingStarted @Abertay

Get a headstart with this quick online guide to getting started with the Library and IT at Abertay.

StudySkills@Abertay

Online information and interactive tutorials on IT, referencing, academic writing and more.

Getting help

Details of who and how we can help.